This meeting is part of the activities of the Research Group on Orthogonal Polynomials, Special Functions and Operator Theory and Applications (OPSFOTA) based in the UK and Leuven (Belgium).

The inaugural meeting will take place at the University of Kent, on the 16th January 2019. The meeting is supported by a London Mathematical Society Joint Research Groups grant.

SpeakersMarta Betcke (University College London), Niels Bonneux (KU Leuven, Belgium), Rod Halburd (University College London), Andy Hone (University of Kent)
and Nick Simm (University of Sussex).

Registration: There is no registration fee, but it would be helpful if you could register in advance by emailing Ana Loureiro (A.Loureiro@kent.ac.uk).

Venue: School of Mathematics, Statistics and Actuarial Science in the new Sibson building.

TIMETABLE  – Full programme available HERE.

11.00 – 11.50:   Nick Simm
Title: Critical behaviour in non-Hermitian random matrices and Painlevé transcendents
Location:  Sibson SR4
12.00-13.00: Lunch in Sibson cafe
13.00-13.50: Marta Betcke
Title: Photoacoustic tomography with incomplete data: subsampled and dynamic problems
Location: Sibson SR3

14.00-14.50: Rod Halburd

Title: Special functions and integrable equations in characteristic p
Location:  Sibson SR3

14.50-15.30: Coffee/Tea break

15.30-16.20: Niels Bonneux

Title: Wronskian Appell polynomials
Location: Sibson SR3
16.30-17.20: Andy Hone
Title: Chebyshev polynomials, Lehmer numbers, and huge primes
Location:  Sibson SR3

Marta Betcke (University College London)
Niels Bonneux (KU Leuven)
Matteo Casati (University of Kent)
Peter Clarkson (University of Kent)
Alfredo Deaño  (University of Kent)
Clare Dunning (University of Kent)
Marco Fasondini (University of Kent)
Gianluca Frasca Caccia (University of Kent)
Rod Halburd (University College London)
Andy Hone (University of Kent)
Sanjida Islam (University of Kent)
Theodoros Kouloukous (University of Kent)
Arno Kuijlaars (KU Leuven)
Philipp Lampe (University of Kent)
Bas Lemmens (University of Kent)
Helder Lima  (University of Kent)
Ana Loureiro (University of Kent)
Philipp Lampe (University of Kent)
Jordan Makwana (University of Kent)
Elizabeth Mansfield (University of Kent)
Joe Pallister (University of Kent)
Nick Simm (University of Sussex)
Walter Van Ascche (University of Leuven)
Jani Virtanen (University of Reading)

Local travel information including maps may be found here.
A virtual tour of the University of Kent can be seen here.

Train information may be obtained from here. The quickest train from London to Canterbury (West) takes 54 minutes from St Pancras International.

Funds are available to help with travel expenses of participants with limited sources of funding. We hope that this will encourage postgraduate students and postdocs to attend the meeting. Please email Ana Loureiro ( A.Loureiro@kent.ac.uk ) in advance if you would like to apply for support.