Timothy Brittain-Catlin chairs Spaces of Memory, Spaces of Heritage

Timothy Brittain-Catlin chaired a distinguished panel of conservation activists on Wednesday 20th June at an event hosted by the Romanian Cultural Institute as part of the London Festival of Architecture. The panel comprised the architect, writer and conservation pioneer Sherban Cantacuzino; the philanthropist and founder of the Pro Patrimonio Foundation Nicolae Ratiu; the author and conservation activist Jessica Douglas-Home; and the award-winning architect Vlad Sebastian Rusu, and the discussion was held to accompany the current exhibition of a number of fascinating recent conservation projects at the Institute.

Sherban Cantacuzino related the history of the newly restored early nineteenth-century vernacular cottage where the composer George Enescu had been born, and Jessica Douglas-Home talked about the work of the Mihai Eminescu Trust, including the beautiful fortified church at Alma Vii in Transylvania. The Cultural Palace in Blaj, restored by Vlad Sebastian Rusu, has just been awarded this year’s EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards in the Conservation category. The evening attracted a large crowd and was attended by HRH Prince Nicholas of Romania.

Image: Left to right, Dorian Branea, director of the Romanian Cultural Institute; Nicolae Ratiu; Sherban Cantacuzino; Timothy Brittain-Catlin; Jessica Douglas-Home; Vlad Sebastian Rusu.

Board of Architects Malaysia visits Kent School of Architecture

Kent School of Architecture is currently hosting the validation panel from Lembaga Arkitek Malaysia / Board of Architects Malaysia. As part of their trip, the visiting panel have been given a private tour of the KSA Summer Show 2017 which is opening to the public today, Friday 16th June, at 6PM.

The initial discussion has been positive and a report will be submitted to the Lembaga Arkitek Malaysia for approval next month.

Professor Marialena Nikolopoulou becomes the new WIMEK visiting research fellow

The CASE Director, Professor Marialena Nikolopoulou has been awarded the competitive WIMEK visiting research fellowship.  She will be visiting Wageningen University, where she will be working with Dr Sanda Lenzholzer from the Landscape Architecture group, on urban climate and climate responsive design of outdoor space.

They are currently focusing on suitable methods to study the physical and psychological dimension of thermal perception and they are developing a special issue for the Journal of International Biometeorology.

Stage 3 student Ottavia Profumo wins The Gravett Award for Architectural Drawing

The Gravett Award, named after Kenneth Gravett (1930 – 1999), is the award for the best observational drawing or drawings of existing buildings or structures produced during the year by an undergraduate student of Kent School of Architecture.

The Kent Historic Buildings Committee, a specialist unit of CPRE Kent, perpetuates the memory of Kenneth Gravett by offering an annual award to a Kent-based architecture student whose drawn and written work shows evidence of sound observation in the study of a building or group of buildings and displaying high quality of draughtsmanship and presentation.

The prize is designed to encourage the recording of existing buildings by hand-drawing, either in perspective views, orthographic drawings, sketches, or other hand-drawn representations of historic and existing buildings.

This year’s judging panel consisted of:

  • Ptolemy Dean (chair), Architect, Ptolemy Dean Architects, advisor to the BBC 2 Restoration series, and Surveyor of the Fabric at Westminster Abbey
  • Keith Bothwell, Architect and Programme Director BA Architecture, KSA
  • Clive Bowley, Architect and Director, Anthony Swaine Architecture Ltd
  • Stuart Page, Chartered Architect RIBA SCA
  • Fiona Raley, Architect and Associate Lecturer, KSA

This year’s winner of the Gravett Award was awarded to Stage 3 student Ottavia Profumo by John Wotton, Chairman CPRE Kent Historic Buildings Committee. The prize-giving, which took place on Wednesday 7th June 2017, included a celebration of all entrants’ submissions and was also attended by Christine Drury, Chair of CPRE Kent.

KSA students take part in Medway Charrette

The Medway Strategy Group has commissioned a project to develop a stronger ‘sense of place’ at Medway and improve connections between different parts of the Medway campus including Pembroke and The Historic Dockyard, Chatham.

Kent School of Architecture students took part in a three-day Design Charrette at the Historic Dockyard, impressing visitors and guests with their vision and professionalism.

The Judging Panel, made up of Professor Don Gray (Head of School, Kent School of Architecture), Denise Flockhart (Office of the VC, University of Kent), Duncan Berntsen (Senior Urban Office Designer, Medway Council), Nigel Howard (Historic Environment and Buildings Project Manager, Chatham Historic Dockyard Trust) was, “unanimous in declaring Team Ocelot (Alana Tidd, Julita Borys, Tilly Franklin, Nor Farah Ain Md Her, Moha Moein-Shirazi) as the winning designers of the ‘charrette’ at Chatham Historic Dockyard. The judges were impressed with the thoroughness and consistency with which the team had constructed their entry, and in particular, how effective the individuals had been working as a team. Judges noted the use of articulated visual clues for wayfinding, including the use of ‘gateways’ and thresholds to identify particular areas in a stimulating ‘journey through time’. They were also impressed by the inventive used of contemporary tram system to move people to key locations on both sites. Pedestrian movement was well considered. A new viewing tower clearly identified the site from a distance.”

The winning team, ‘Ocelot’, said, “It was a great opportunity to be part of a live project. We were impressed with the work that everyone produced in just three days. It was a fun experience and the best ending to our three years at Kent School of Architecture.

Alana Tidd, Julita Borys, Tilly Franklin, Nor Farah Ain Md Her, Moha Moein-Shirazi

Adrian Kehrli, Jeremy Ali, Ventsislav Videlov, Mohammed Mirza, Ottavia Profumo

THIRD PRIZE: ‘Pineapple’
Elliot Ritchie, Yashas Deshmudre, Karol Grzeskowiak, Matthew Parish, Mihai Bacan, Luisa Pires

Jake Obichere, Pinda Atwal, Angella Nkurunziza, Aisyah Abu Daniel

Plus a further thank you to the two remaining groups who also made some excellent contributions:

Caramelos Blandos’
Rhian Lloyd, Katie Van Dorssen, Chelsea Bland, Amanda Ope-Ewe

Maritime Moments’
Lucia Lanzalaco, Nikki Pappas, Junyan Du, Shefield NG, Rhiannon James

Patrick O’Keeffe is the British School at Rome Worsley Fellow, 2017-18

Stage 5 student Patrick O’Keeffe has been awarded the 2017 British School at Rome Giles Worsley Fellowship. The Fellowship was inaugurated in honour of Giles Worsley, the distinguished historian of neo-classical architecture, and offers an opportunity for outstanding young architects and architectural historians to experience and learn from the architecture of Rome and to contribute to the lively scholarly atmosphere of the School.

Patrick’s research will look at the use of musical harmony as a means of investigating and interpreting architectural harmony in Renaissance Rome. He will travel to Rome for three months from October 2017.

‘I am delighted to have been offered this fantastic opportunity to pursue my research in Rome with the support of the Worsley family and the British School at Rome’, Patrick said.

Patrick is the second KSA MArch student to win a major national award.  In 2014 Keith Diplock joined a select handful of students from the Architectural Association, the Royal College of Art and the Bartlett as the winner of an RIBAWren Insurance Association Scholarship.