Staff nominated by students for ‘Above and Beyond’ awards

Twenty two members of staff from the School of European Culture and Languages have won Above and Beyond Awards, launched by Kent Union to celebrate outstanding members of staff, both academic and non-academic.

Students nominate staff who they believe have gone above and beyond in their role.

Head of School Professor Shane Weller said: “These awards are testament to how hard staff in the School of European Culture and Languages work to improve the educational experience for everyone: for our students to have a transformative learning experience; for staff to lead inspirational lectures and seminars; and for external organisations to benefit from employable graduates with a wide range of transferable skills.”

The nominated staff are listed below:

Luke Allder, English Language & Linguistics
Dr Anne Alwis, Classical & Archaeological Studies
Dr Thomas Baldwin, Modern Languages
Dr Efrosyni Boutsikas, Classical & Archaeological Studies
Dr Christopher Burden-Strevens, Classical & Archaeological Studies
Dr Vicki Callanan, English Language & Linguistics
Heidi Colthup, English Language & Linguistics
Dr Chris Deacy, Religious Studies
Dr Sam D’Elia, English Language & Linguistics
Dr Leslie de Vries, Religious Studies
Dr David Hornsby, English Language & Linguistics
Dr Vikki Janke, English Language & Linguistics
Dr Edward Kanterian, Philosophy
Dr Eleni Kapogianni, English Language & Linguistics
Dr Paul March-Russell, Comparative Literature
Dr Lucy O’Meara, Modern Languages
Dr Joanne Pettitt, Comparative Literature
Dr Kelli Rudolph, Classical & Archaeological Studies
Professor Axel Stähler, Comparative Literature
Alyx Robinson, Philosophy
Dr Lauren Ware, Philosophy
Dr Rosie Wyles, Classical & Archaeological Studies

The School of European Culture and Languages would like to congratulate all these staff for their achievements.

Leave a Reply