Canterbury Festival Poet of the Year Awards Evening

We are very excited to announce that the tenth annual Canterbury Festival Poet of the Year awards evening will take place on Monday 2 October at 7:30 in the Gulbenkian Theatre.

The School of English and the Centre for Creative Writing proudly sponsor the prizes for the competition, which is firmly established as part of the Canterbury Festival. Previous winners include Vicky Wilson, Sue Rose, Dorothy Lehane, Moyra Tourlamain, Marily Donovan, Graham Burchill, Gillian Laker, John Bayliss Post, and Abegail Morley.

Last year’s winner, Jennifer Syrkiewicz, will appear as a special guest this year, along with the short-listed poets and University of Kent poets. The event will culminate with the awarding of the University of Kent Prize to the Poet of the Year.

Entry is free.