Law student wins award

Kent law student Charles Wood has been awarded The Norman Cooper Advocacy Prize in recognition of his advocacy skills.

Charles, a final year LLB Law student at Kent Law School, was chosen for the award following his selection as the best advocate in the annual internal mooting competition for Medway based students held earlier this year.

Mooting involves arguing points of law in a simulated courtroom setting using hypothetical facts often based on a factual scenario that is a variant on a leading case. The Law School offers an extra-curricular module in mooting which is open to all second and third year students.

Charles said: ‘I feel immensely privileged to receive such a prestigious award. Mooting at Kent Law School is enjoyable and challenging, so to get such recognition for advocacy as an extra-curricular activity is great! Everyone who took part in the competition worked incredibly hard and there were some great advocates. I would recommend participation in such events as the skills gained are invaluable for anyone wanting to pursue a career in law. The judges’ comments are informative for improving and extra research in any given area of law can only aid you as a student.’

Professor Nicholas Grief, Sub-Dean for Medway, said: ‘Once again, the judges were very impressed with the high standard of mooting and choosing the winner was no easy task. I’d like to say a huge thank you to Joe Pearson (Lecturer in Law) for running the competition again and to our judges for giving their time.’

There will be a formal presentation of the prize to Charles at a reception following the Medway graduation ceremony in Rochester Cathedral on 8 July.

The Norman Cooper Advocacy Prize was established at Kent Law School in 2011 through the generosity of Professor Jeremy Cooper, and in association with Kent Law Society, in memory of Norman Cooper, former President of Kent Law Society and a former County Prosecuting Solicitor, who died in 2011 at the age of 91.

Previous winners of the award have included: Danielle Johnson (2013); Claire Stevenson (2012); and Amanda Richter (2011).