Murray Smith, University of Kent by Rob Greshoff

Entries for THE Awards 2021 now open

Entries for the Times Higher Education Awards 2021 are now open.

Entries are invited from UK higher education institutions (and for the first time, in Ireland too) across 19 categories, which will be shortlisted and judged by an expert panel,  with this year’s categories listed below.

This year focuses primarily on the 2019-20 academic year, so that includes brilliant responses to the many unforeseen challenges brought by the Covid-19 pandemic, but the judges are aware that lots of work took place during that period that was unrelated to or unaffected by the pandemic, and are keen to read about those too.

  • University of the Year
  • Business School of the Year
  • International Collaboration of the Year
  • Knowledge Exchange/Transfer Initiative of the Year
  • Most Innovative Teacher of the Year
  • Outstanding Contribution to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion
  • Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community
  • Outstanding Entrepreneurial University
  • Outstanding Estates Team
  • Outstanding Library Team
  • Outstanding Marketing/Communications Team
  • Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year
  • Outstanding Support for Students
  • Outstanding Technician of the Year
  • Research Project of the Year: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Research Project of the Year: STEM
  • Technological or Digital Innovation of the Year
  • Widening Participation or Outreach Initiative of the Year
  • THE Outstanding Achievement Award

Winners will be announced at a glittering hopefully in-person ceremony in late November.

Corporate Communications will once again be co-ordinating Kent’s award entries this year and is happy to support schools/departments with their submissions. Please email Corporate Communications by Friday 21 May if you know of a potential entry – deadline for all completed entries is Wednesday 9 June.

Further information on the awards is available on the THE Awards 2021 website.

Picture shows: Murray Smith, Professor of Film at the School of Arts, who was shortlisted for Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year at the THE Awards 2020.