Professor Jan Loop

Celebrating our academic excellence

Our academic staff continue to lead the way in outstanding research and teaching, and this has been recognised in our latest promotions.

Fifty nine academic colleagues are celebrating promotion to professor, reader, senior lecturer or senior research fellow across our Faculties of Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences, with effect from 1 October 2019.

The new professors are:

Professor Vybarr Cregan-Reid, School of English; Professor Sophia Labadi, Professor Axel Stähler and Professor Ellen Swift, School of European Culture and Languages; Professor Karen Jones and Professor Jan Loop, School of History; Professor Scott Wildman, Centre for Higher and Degree Apprenticeships; Professor Dan Mulvihill, School of Biosciences; Professor Patricia Lewis and Professor Jesse O’Hanley, Kent Business School; Professor Bob Smith, School of Anthropology and Conservation; Professor Alastair Bailey, School of Economics; Professor Adrian Pabst, School of Politics and International Relations; and Professor Michelle McCarthy, School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research.

Alison Ross-Green, Director of HR and Organisational Development, said: ‘The University is dependent upon the personal growth and career attainment of its academic staff to refresh, develop and strengthen our organisation for the future. Congratulations to all those promoted in 2019. Your hard work and focus on excellence help to ensure the outstanding student experience, research achievement and funding that is so important to our success going forward.’

You can see a full list of Academic Promotions 2019 here.

Picture shows: Professor Jan Loop, School of History.