Kent’s commitment to European network

Kent was proud to host the annual meetings of the SGroup European Universities Network (SGroup) 6th to 8th November 2019.

This event saw representatives from the SGroup’s 32 member institutions from 17 European countries attend as well as one of the network’s associate partners from Colombia.

The Network, which was established in 1989, is based on four core areas of co-operation – internationalisation strategy, academic collaboration, academic mobility, and the transfer of knowledge.

Kent joined the SGroup in April 2011 and has used its membership of the network to strengthen both its European and international partnerships, giving rise to a range of mobility opportunities for students and staff.

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Karen Cox gave the formal welcome to network representatives and stressed the University’s commitment to continued European and international collaboration in the context of its civic mission.

The meeting of the SGroup concluded with a workshop on collaboration in the context of Brexit and included the perspectives of Prof. Philippe de Wilde as Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Research and Innovation and Prof. Jeremy Carrette, Dean for Europe.

For further information about Kent’s membership of the SGroup, please contact:

Primrose Paskins, International Partnerships Email: