Professor Nathan Gomes and Professor Jiangzhou Wang attend joint EU-China kick-off meeting on large-scale 5G trials

From 18th to 22nd November 2018, Professor Nathan Gomes and Professor Jiangzhou Wang from the School of Engineering and Digital Arts, attended the joint kick-off meeting between the European Commission funded 5G-DRIVE project and its “twinning” project in China, the 5G Large-scale Trial project led by China Mobile, funded by MIIT (China).  The 20 month collaboration includes trials on enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB) and the Internet of Vehicles, specifically Vehicle-to-Vehicle (V2V) Vehicle-to-Infrastructure (V2I and Vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication, as well as joint publication of results and the organisation of joint events.

The cooperation agreement between the EU-funded 5G-DRIVE project and the Chinese “5G Large-scale Trial” project was signed on behalf of the Chinese consortium by Ms Yuhong Huang, Deputy General Manager of the China Mobile Research Institute, and for the European consortium by Mr Uwe Herzog, Programme Manager at Eurescom and Coordinator of the 5G-DRIVE project.

The political support for the 5G cooperation was expressed through the participation of high-level representatives from both sides at the signing ceremony – China was represented by Ms. Sun Ji from the Chinese Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT) and the EU was represented by Mr. Philipp Barth from the Delegation of the European Union to China

The Horizon 2020 project 5G-DRIVE. “5G Harmonised Research and Trials for service Evolution between EU and China” started in September 2018 and will end in February 2021. It is coordinated by Eurescom (Germany) and includes 16 further European partners from industry and academia: BMW Group (Germany), Dynniq (Finland), ERTICO (Belgium), European Commission’s Joint Research Centre (JRC) (Belgium), Martel (Switzerland), Mandat International (Switzerland), Orange (Poland), Orion Innovations P.C. (Greece), OTE (Greece), SMNET (Greece), SPI (Portugal), University of Kent (UK), University of Luxembourg (Luxembourg), University of Surrey (UK), Vediafi Oy (Finland), and VTT (Finland). More information is available from the project’s website: