University Teaching Prize winners


Teaching excellence across the University was celebrated at the Kent Teaching Prize Awards held at the Canterbury campus.

The annual awards highlight the commitment of Kent academics and professional staff to teaching and ensuring students get the best possible learning experience.

Sixteen Kent staff were recognised this year and received their awards from the Vice-Chancellor Professor Dame Julia Goodfellow. Dr Peter Klappa, a previous prizewinner and now a National Teaching Fellow, received a special 50th Anniversary prize for his sustained contribution to teaching, presented by the new Pro-Vice-Chancellor Teaching & Learning Professor Chris Davies.

Other winners of this year’s awards were:

Humanities Faculty Teaching Prize – Dr Oliver Double and Dr Sophie Quirk (Drama and Theatre) for their MDrama work on Stand-Up Comedy. Dr Virginia Pitts (Film Studies) for her innovative teaching in Film Practice.

Sciences Faculty Teaching Prize – Dr Tarlochan Gill (Pharmacy) for his work with the ‘Sim Man’ artificial patient in Clinical Pharmokinetics. Dr Jeremy Rossman (Biosciences) for his innovative teaching in Virology.

Social Science Faculty Teaching Prize – Dr Jane Reeves, Professor David Shemmings, Isobel Drew, Vanisha Jassal, Dr Emily Blake and Dr Mark O’Connor, for their internationally-recognised work on the distance learning MA in Advanced Child Protection. Dr Stefan Rossbach, Dr Iain MacKenzie and Dr Adrian Pabst for their work on the innovative postgraduate module ‘Resistance in Practice’.

Barbara Morris Prize for Learning Support – Samantha Harris, Specialist Associate Lecturer in KLS and Associate Lecturer in Drama, for her work on the interdisciplinary ‘Justice and Persuasion’ workshop series.

For more information, contact Dr Janice Malcolm.