Kent sponsors Culture Awards

Kent is the principal sponsor of the Canterbury Culture Awards 2014.

The University’s sponsorship includes its 50th Anniversary Award for Kent’s Cultural Icon. The nominees for this category, the winner of which will be decided by public vote, are Brenda Blethyn, Orlando Bloom, Tracey Emin and Ellie Goulding. Voting information can be found here.

The 2014 Awards ceremony will take place at the University’s Canterbury campus on Thursday 12 June.

Established in 2011, the annual Awards are designed to recognise the outstanding work of creative practitioners in East Kent: fine artists, performers, venues and commercial designers working in all mediums. They also celebrate and showcase the benefits that the creative industries bring to the East Kent region, helping it to become a prime tourist destination, a centre of excellence for arts education and a focal point for creative individuals and commercial organisations.

Professor Keith Mander, Deputy Vice-Chancellor at the University, said: ‘I am delighted to welcome the 2014 Culture Awards to the University of Kent as we begin to celebrate our 50th Anniversary. Culture is an important component in creating vibrant communities like the Canterbury District, and I look forward to celebrating our cultural achievements in June.’

The closing date for the public vote is 1 June.

Further information, including how to obtain tickets for the gala ceremony on 12 June, can be found here.