Annual Wain Medal Lecture 2019

The 2019 Wain Medal Lecture will be given by Dr. Lindsay Hall from the Quadram Institute Bioscience, Norwich

As a result of a generous endowment from the family of the late Professor Louis Wain CBE, FRS, the University of Kent has established the annual Medal Lecture and Award in his memory.

The Wain Medal is awarded to a young scientist doing research in biochemistry. Candidates for the award must be 40 years of age or under in the year of the award and work in the United Kingdom.

The Medal Lecture is a public lecture held within the University of Kent during the autumn term. This year’s lecture will be held on 30 October 2019 in Woolf College starting at 17.00. The awardee, Dr Lindsay Hall, is expected to emphasize public understanding in her presentation.  In addition to the Medal, the successful candidate receives an honorarium of £1,000.

Dr Hall will present a talk entitled: Harnessing our microbial “Guardians of the Gut”. This is an important public occasion for the School and we expect a large number of outside visitors.

Previous Medal winners have been Professors Gregory Challis, University of Warwick, Ben Davies, University of Oxford, Dr Gail Ferguson, University of Aberdeen, Professor Frank Sargent, University of Dundee and Professor Molly Stevens, Imperial College London, Dr Edward Tate, Imperial College London, Professor Sarah O’Connor, John Innes Centre, Norwich, Dr James Turner, The Francis Crick Institute, Professor David Leys, University of Manchester, Professor Nicola Stanley-Wall, University of Dundee, Dr Sarah Staniland, University of Sheffield