Registration Now Open

Registration is now open for the British Society of Aesthetics Conference: Art, Aesthetics and the Medical and Health Humanities, at the University of Kent, Friday 7th – Sunday 9th February 2020.

Sponsored by the British Society of Aesthetics and hosted by the Aesthetics Research Centre, the conference will bring together Analytic Aesthetics and the Medical and Health Humanities. The conference aims to stimulate conversations about the connections art and aesthetics have with medicine, medical education, healthcare and the advancement of health and wellbeing.

Keynote talks will be delivered by Professor Rita Charon (Columbia University), Professor Paul Crawford (University of Nottingham), Professor Sheila Lintott (Bucknell University), and Professor Jenefer Robinson (University of Cincinnati), alongside confirmed responses from Dr Julie Anderson (University of Kent), Dr Stella Bolaki (University of Kent), Dr Eileen John (University of Warwick) and Professor Matthew Kieran (University of Leeds).

Panel sessions will feature presentations by more than 50 scholars, artists and health professionals from across the world.

The conference also includes a Friday evening theatre performance at The Gulbenkian Theatre: Playing ON present Can I Help You? A magical realist examination of the role race and gender have to play in mental health and suicide. The Saturday evening features a stand-up comedy show at The Gulbenkian Café: Four great acts (Matt Hoss, Dave Chawner, Chelsea Birkby and Juliette Burton) explore health and wellbeing on stage.

Registration fees:

  • Full price: £125
  • Concessions: £90 (Students, PhD candidates and scholars on hourly-paid contracts).
  • Further concessions available for University of Kent Staff and Students

Registration fee includes: Tea & Coffee breaks; 3 Lunches; Cold Buffet Dinner (Friday); Hot Buffet Dinner (Saturday). Early bird offer: Register by 15 December and get free tickets to the Friday and Saturday evening performances. 



We look forward to welcoming you in February.

The organizers,

Dr Dieter Declercq, Dr Michael Newall and Professor Nicola Shaughnessy